De opdracht en link voor de foto's - Reisverslag uit Townsville, Australië van Esther Have - WaarBenJij.nu De opdracht en link voor de foto's - Reisverslag uit Townsville, Australië van Esther Have - WaarBenJij.nu

De opdracht en link voor de foto's

Door: estherinhetbuitenland

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Esther

25 April 2011 | Australië, Townsville

Nou hier is de link voor de foto's van Pasen:
http://princes-essie17.hyves.nl/album/63254433/Me_and_Easter/vxQrayFf/
En hieronder staat de opdracht.

Critically reflective blog

In this critically reflective blog I will reflect on my experience at my current job as a waitress in an Indian restaurant. I will talk about my sense of self; culture, structure and biography (as cited from Jones, P. 2011. Study Guide WS1006 Self in Professional Helping. Unit 4: Foundations for Practice: History and Philosophy. Department of Social Work and Community Welfare. School of Art and Social Sciences. Faculty of Arts, Education and Social Sciences. James Cook University. Townsville), and also try to get a picture of my boss and his wives culture, structure and biography. Values and ethics will also be discussed and after that I will use Gibbs (1998) framework to critically reflect the experience. And try to figure out what the exact problem is.

Currently I work as a waitress in an Indian restaurant. I had no experience as a waitress or with Indian dishes and my boss new that. The restaurant is run by my boss ‘F’ and his wife ‘M’, who are from Pakistan. When I came to work there, they had only one other waitress and she warned me about ‘M’. The other waitress has left the restaurant, because of the way she was treated by ‘M’. There is now another girl, who also works as a waitress for the first time. When I came to work there I hoped to learn some skills as a waitress, but that didn’t really happen so far. On my training night I ended up washing dishes for three hours, instead of being trained as a waitress. Every time I want to take an order, ‘M’ sends me to the kitchen and grabs the notebook out of my hand. They also let me prepare dishes in the kitchen and ‘F’ told me from the beginning that I could ask anything, a 1000 times if I have to. But in fact, this is not the case, if I just ask something ones, I get yelled at. I feel more like a servant, and I get paid to let them yell at me. They now I can’t just leave because I need the money, so I feel like they take advantage of me.

I will now first talk about my own sense of self and after that try to analyze the biography, culture and structure of my boss and his wife. I will first talk about the biographical events that shaped me. My parents divorced when I was about 9/10 years old. After that me and my two younger sisters lived with my mom. When is was about 13 years old I got in a lot of fights with my dad and eventually when I was 16, I decided I did not wanted to see him anymore, for many different reasons. This was also I period I started to stand up for myself. In the years my parents are divorced; my mom sometimes had three jobs at a time to support us.

Now I am going to talk about the kinds of culture that contributed to me as a person. I wanted to go to Australia and I told my mom, she was really supportive right away. She always wanted to go overseas but her parents never let her. As I just said my mom often had three jobs and partly because of that I was willing to work for what I wanted to do. So I started working at a supermarket as soon as I could, and worked there for 2 years, even though I did not really like it. Now I realize that job was not that bad compared to my job as a waitress.

There are many different structures that contributed to me as a person, for example the education system. When I was young I was in a school with many different people, from different countries. My group of friends consisted out of a Polish girl, a Portuguese girl, a girl from Iraq, and some Dutch girls. So we all had a different up bringing, but we still got along and never really had any problem because of that. In that particular school they were teaching us not to look at someone’s skin color but at someone’s personality. Partly because of that I did not mind working for someone from a completely different country.

The biography of ‘F’ and ‘M’ contain, moving to India. They moved to India from Pakistan and lived there for multiple years, before coming to Australia. When they came here, they decided to open and Indian restaurant to cook the dishes they got to know while living in India. They probably were not able to do this in their home country.

Coming from a country like Pakistan, their culture is very different than mine. For an example women are treated very differently in Pakistan than what I am used to. The family plays a big role as well, and they have a very big family. ‘F’ and ‘M’ have 5 children and you can see that they are important for them, because there are pictures of them all over the office area.

Economic and political structure played a big role for them, because in Australia they could start the life they did not have in Pakistan. Here they could open their own restaurant and they have the freedom to do what they want. Which they might not had back in Pakistan.

Values are standards of behavior; principles are rules or beliefs governing one’s personal behavior; morality is concerned with the difference between right and wrong; ethics are the moral principles that govern a person’s behavior or how an activity is conducted (as cited in Chenoweth, L. & McAuliffe, D., 2008, p56). Because my boss had a different upbringing or values and ethics are different as well. Like the culture they grew up in, thinks differently about women in society. While I was brought up by mom who said that nothing should be impossible. Your values are based on the environment you grew up in, so everyone has different ones. Sometimes this will cause problems, because what you feel is right, does not necessary has to be right for someone else. This might be the explaining the problems I am having with my boss. One of his values might involve the way he works, and that might be why I am treated the way I am.

If you compare my sense of self and theirs you can see that there are a lot of differences. Like the fact that the women are treated in a different way in Pakistan. But there are also some similarities like I came here from the Netherlands and they came here from Pakistan. And that we both are willing to work even though that might be in a different way. Family is also important for the both of us.

I will now use Gibbs (1998) framework for critical reflecting, to reflect on the situation. The first thing you have to ask yourself is what happened? I work at a restaurant, were I am treated like a servant and get yelled at on a regular basis. Which makes me feel bad about myself. Then you ask yourself what were you thinking and feeling? I was thinking about leaving my job right away, but then I realized I could not do that because I need the money. Every time I go to work I do not want to go and I feel very angry and sad when I get yelled at. What was good and bad about the situation? The bad thing about the experience is that is makes me feel bad about myself and ruins my day when I have to go to work. But the good thing is that I now know that I can stay in a job like this if I have to, and I will survive somehow. What sense can you make of the situation? The situation can make sense, considering my boss is from an other country and we have a different upbringing. Because of that we have a different set of values which may cause some friction between me, ‘F’ and ‘M’. Maybe it is normal in their country to treat your staff the way they do, but where I come from it is definitely not. What else could you have done? I do not think I could have done anything else. I am talking about my boss her and I can not afford to loose my job. So for now I just do what they tell me to do and try to understand where they are coming from. If it arose again what would you do? If a situation like this occurs again I would probably not even take the job. At least I would like to figure out how I am going to be treated upfront, so I can prepare myself. But next time I will definitely not tolerate getting treated this way at work or anywhere else.

References

Chenoweth, L., and McAuliffe, D. (2008). The Road to Social Work and Human Service Practice. (2nded). South Melbourne: Cengage Learning Australia.

Jones, P. (2011). Study Guide WS1006 Self in Professional Helping. Unit 4: Foundations for Practice: History and Philosophy. Department of Social Work and Community Welfare. School of Art and Social Sciences. Faculty of Arts, Education and Social Sciences. James Cook University. Townsville

Rolfe, G., Freshwater, D., and Jasper, M. (2001) .Critical Reflection for Nursing and the Helping Professions. Chapter Two: Models of Critical Reflection. p33. New York: Palgrave.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Townsville

Esther

Actief sinds 29 April 2010
Verslag gelezen: 320
Totaal aantal bezoekers 39853

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Oktober 2012 - 22 Oktober 2013

Au Pair San Francisco

06 Juli 2010 - 04 September 2010

Als au pair naar Engeland

06 Juni 2010 - 13 Juni 2010

Vakantie Mallorca 2010

06 Februari 2011 - 30 November -0001

Studeren in Australie

Landen bezocht: